Performance Testing Standards

Prior to earning the NALFA Certification Seal, laminate floors must pass a series of 14 rigorous performance tests. An independent laboratory completes the testing and submits the results to the NALFA board for final approval. Only then may a product bear the certification seal. These 14 performance tests include the following:

  • Static Load
  • Thickness Swell
  • Light Resistance
  • Cleanability/Stain Resistance
  • Large Ball Impact Resistance
  • Small Ball Impact Resistance
  • Wear Resistance
  • Dimensional Tolerance
  • Castor Chair Resistance
  • Surface Bond
  • Formaldehyde
  • Flatness
  • Openings
  • Ledging



Scroll to Top